Sunday, January 8, 2012

The Five Pillars of Islam

1.) Shahadah (Testimony of Faith)
Shahadah is the first pillar of Islam. It means to believe and declare the faith by saying the Shahadah, known as the Kalimah.
"There is no god but Allah, and Muhammad (s.a.w) is His Messenger." This is called the Shahada, which is the declaration of the Islamic faith. The Shahada is the acceptance of Allah, Muhammad, his prophet, and all of Islam as prescribed to us by Allah’s Messenger Prophet Muhammad (s.a.w).

2.) Salah (Daily Ritual Prayers)
Salah (prayer) is the second pillar of Islam. Prayer is obligatory and must be performed five times a day. These five times are dawn (Fajr), immediately after noon (Dhuhr), mid-afternoon (‘Asr), sunset (Maghrib), and early night (Isha’).

3.) Zakah (Alms Tax for Poor)
The third pillar of Islam is the alms-tax (Zakah). Zakah is an Arabic word which literally means “purification” and in religious terminology it is understood to mean that a person “purifies” his holdings of wealth from greed and stinginess.

4.) Sawm (Fasting during the Month of Ramadhan)
The fourth pillar of Islam is fasting. Allah (s.w.t) has prescribed daily fasting for all able, adult Muslims during the month of 'Ramadan' which is during the lunar year. The fasting would also be known as the 'Sawm'. The Muslims fast from sunrise to sunset, and will not eat, drink or be sexually involved with their husband or wife.

5.) Hajj (Pilgrimage to Mecca)
The fifth pillar of Islam is to make a pilgrimage (Hajj) to Makkah, in Saudi Arabia, at least once in one’s lifetime. Hajj is obligatory for every Muslim, male or female, provided that he/she is physically fit and financially able to do so.


  1. As salam wale kum . you have sach a nice web site.


    Sabana Begum

    (5 pillar of islam)

  2. Jaza'k'Allah o khayr. All praise to Allah (swt)

  3. jazakumullah it can very useful for me

    1. ment to say came not can

    2. wa'antum'f'jzakum Allah o khayr, I'm glad, all praise to Allah (swt), remember me in your prayers.

  4. The practice of zakat influences Muslims as a community of faith by showing that Allah's will is for everyone to be treated equally by having the upper and middle classes give a portion of their wealth to the poor.
    quran recitation online

  5. Awesome post! Thanks for sharing.

  6. Assalam-O-Alikum
    Purify your soul and heart by visiting the house of Allah. Be the guest of him you can be rewarded by the wishes you ask for. For Umrah or Hajj, there is no reliable source other than Al Hijaz Tours. It’s there Cheap Umrah Packages 2017.which make your experience more appealing and tremendous.

  7. “Whoever sets the Hereafter as his goal, God gathers his affairs for him, gives him richness of (faith in) the heart and the world will come to him grudgingly and submissively.” (Ibn Maajah, Ibn Hibbaan)

  8. I found one website wherein five pillars of islam information is updated - fivepillarsofislam I think you should add it in your website as well